This video shows a quick introduction to the overall workflow in a succession of steps without explanation. Refer to the texts below to get more insight into each step.
Make sure you've opened an edition for editing (read this if you don't know how). Then start adding content to your edition. Simply drag an item from the first white column to the second. (See "Setup workspace" for explanation of each column in DrEdition).
Green articles in first column are already added to the edition, and since DrEdition does not allow duplicates in the edition list, they cannot be added again. Click "Hide x imported items" to hide those you have already added.
Use these two buttons. Only the green one will publish changes for readers to see. SAVE saves a draft which only DrEdition editors can see.
If you need to undo/redo use ctrl-z and ctrl-y, or the corresponding buttons (illustration below). If you need access to previous versions of the Front Page, use the drop-down besides undo/redo:
If one or more editions have been set up to target your front page, you will find them on top of the leftmost column while editing the front page. From here, you can also add items to the source edition from the import list, or move items off the target edition and back to the source edition.
If you want to edit the item data of the source edition, you can switch to that edition using the pencil icon.
When editing items in a source edition, you have the option of scheduling when the item will be added to the target edition, including at which position it will be added. You may also set that it should be pinned to that position.
If there's already an item pinned at that position, the existing item will be unpinned. If you don't set it to pin at the position, and there is already a pinned item at that position, the new item will added at the next unpinned position.
You may also schedule an item update. If an item in the source edition is already present in the target edition, its data and position will be updated. This can be used to for example remove a "breaking news" label.
The processing of scheduled items only happens when the edition is in automation mode, enabled by the "Play"-button.